It's Wonder-ful

90 million people cast votes on-line to help determine, though a multi-year project, what should be considered the New 7 Wonders of the World ( On July 7, 2007, the list of the New 7 were announced.  Happily NOT was ahead of the curve, having visited 4 of the sites already.

The winners were:

The Great Wall of China


Peru's Machu Picchu


Mexico's Chichen Itza pyramid


Outside the Coloseum

The Coliseum in Rome


Taj Mahal

India's Taj Mahal


Petra in Jordan


Brazil's statue of Christ the Redeemer

The 7 were selected from a slate of 21 finalists, many of which NOT had been to, also.  The 14 candidates which did not make the final list were:

The Acropolis, Greece
  Alhambra, Spain
  Angkor, Cambodia
  Statues of Easter Island, Chile
The Other Tower Eiffel Tower, France
  Hagia Sophia, Turkey
  Kiyomizu Temple, Japan
  Kremlin/St. Basil, Russia
Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany
Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
Nice Dress. Statue of Liberty, USA
Everyone must get stoned! Stonehenge, United Kingdom
Sydney Opera House, Australia
  Timbuktu, Mali


Last Updated December 2010