University of Duck Seal

The Schools of Texas

University of Duck Seal


Angelia College

Founded: 1966

Angelina College
Nickname: Roadrunner
Colors: Royal Blue, Columbia Blue, Orange and White
Motto: A Great Place to Start
Location: Lufkin
A community college in East Texas with a great mascot.


Lamar University

Founded: 1923

Lamar University
Nickname/Mascot: Cardinals / Big Red
Colors: Red, White
Motto: Texas Roots, Infinite Possibilities
Location: Beaumont
Lamar's football program was shuttered after the 1989 season and remained off the campus for nearly two decades until by student vote, it was returned in 2008.


Southern Methodist University

Founded: 1911 SMU

SMU Seal
Nickname/Mascot: Mustangs / Peruna
Colors: Harvard Crimson, Yale Blue
Motto: Veritas Liberabit Vos / The Truth Shall Set You Free
Location: Dallas
SMU has known the highs and lows. It has the distinction of being the only school to have the Football team put under the so called "Death Penalty" - eliminating the football program for a year. It also is the site of the George W. Bush Presidential Center currently under construction on the campus.


Stephen F. Austin State University

Founded: 1921

Stephen F. Austin Campus Sign
Nickname: Lumberjacks and Ladyjacks
Colors: Purple, White, Red
Motto: Striving for Personal Excellence in Everything That We Do
Location: Nagodoches
Stephen F. Austin is one of four independent public universities in Texas


Texas Christian University

Founded: 1873 TCU

TCU Horned Frog
Nickname/Mascot: Horned Frogs
Colors: Purple, White
Motto: Disciplina est Facultas (Knowledge is Power)
Location: Fort Worth
TCU have one of the great mascots: the Horned Frogs. And among the fictional graduates are Roy Hinkley (better known as the Professor on Gilligan's Island) and Reverend Timothy Lovejoy of the Simpsons.  NOT poses with a Horned Frog sculpture on campus by Seppo Aarnos.


Texarkana College
Texas A & M University — Texarkana

Founded: 1927 (TC)
1971 (TAMU-T)
Texas A&M Texarkana
Nickname/Mascot: Bulldog (TC)
Colors: Blue, White (TC)
Motto: A Great Place to Start...Or Start Over (TC)
Location: Texarkana
Texarkana College and Texas A & M University - Texarkana share a campus space, they are two separate schools.

Texarkana College was founded in 1927 as a branch of the Texarkana Independent School District, and joined with East Texas State University in Texarkana in 1971 to offer upper-level and graduate courses. When ETSU joined the Texas A & M System in 1996 (becoming Texas A&M University - Commerce, the Texarkana campus was created as a separate institution, Texas A&M University - Texarkana.   TAMU-T has no athletics program.


Texas College

Founded: 1894 Texas College
Nickname/Mascot: Steers, Lady Steers
Colors: Purple, Gold
Motto: Per Lumen Scientiae Viam Invenient Populi  (Through the light of knowledge the people will find a way)
Location: Tyler
This Historically Black College located in East Texas strives to "recognizes the dynamic nature of the modern world and, hence, the need to integrate faith with technological and scientific advancements to improve the human condition".


University of Texas at Arlington

Founded: 1895 UTA
Nickname/Mascot: Mavericks/Blaze
Colors: Blue, White
Motto: Disciplina Praesidium Civitatis  (Cultivated mind is the guardian genius of democracy)
Location: Arlington
Nestled between Dallas and Fort Worth, the school is known as the Mavericks and has been since 1971, predating the use of the name for the Basketball Team (1980).


University of Texas at Tyler

Founded: 1971 UTT
Nickname/Mascot: Patriots
Colors: Orange, Blue
Location: Tyler
UT Tyler consists of four professional colleges and one traditional college of arts and science and serves the students of East Texas.



Other Travel

Duck Schools

Texas Travel

Photos by J.J. Kwashnak

Updated December 2011